The Problems With Processing Images

Hi and welcome back.

I want to run a post concerning the problems of processing your images creatively.  The issue not only concerns the time it takes to process and image but the time you spend trying to decide when you are done.

I have a few examples here for you to look at.  I took these at last Saturday’s Meetup.  This is our model Ashley.  Now the first image is a direct raw to jpeg conversion with no photoshop or Nik Color Effex Pro manipulation.  It’s standard fare but needs some punch.

In the next shot, I brought the image into Nik Color Effex Pro and use the Tonal Contrast filter and added a slight Glamour Glow. The image is much better and more creative.

I really, really like this edit.   Well, I really, really liked that edit until I decided to swap it to black and white.

I really, really, really liked the black and white until I used the Paper Toner filter.

I love the final image.

The question becomes: how far do I go?  Which one will the client purchase?  Is it worth the extra work?

The answer is yes on all accounts, but the work involved can be difficult and very time consuming.

I’ll leave you with that.  The next time someone balks about paying for your professional services, show them how long it takes to style and customize just one image.

That’s it for now.  Till next time, happy shooting.

About Bob Harrington

A professional photographer, I am always trying to learn and teach as much as I can about the art and craft of photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment